Philanthropy and Service

AECC/AECI Philanthropies and Service Projects

20th Century Club

American Cancer Fund

American Cancer Society

American Heart Association

American Red Cross

AR Kids Read

Arkansas Agriculture Hall of Fame

Arkansas Arts Center

Arkansas Children’s Hospital

Arkansas Department of Emergency Management

Arkansas Foodbank Network

Arkansas Game & Fish Foundation

Arkansas Hunger Relief

Arkansas Rice Depot

Arkansas Rural Teacher of the Year

Benton High School Cheer

Boy Scouts of America

Bryant Boys and Girls Club

CARTI Foundation

Central Arkansas IAAP Chapter

Children’s Protection Center

Clark County Boys & Girls Club

Cub Scouts

First Tee 

For His Throne Ministries

Habitat for Humanity

Humane Society of Saline County

Huntington’s Disease Society

Junior Achievement Program

Keep Arkansas Beautiful

Kiwanis Activities

Lambs List

Lions Club

Little Rock Animal Village

Little Rock Roadrunners

Make-A-Wish Foundation

Maumelle Friends of the Animals


National Park Service

Newport Area Chamber of Commerce

NRECA Glen English Foundation

OAYO- Ozark Area Youth Organization

P.A.R.K. Positive Atmosphere Reaches Kids Foundation

Play Ball Little Rock Blackhawks

Pulaski County Sheriff Reserve Association

Razorback Foundation University of Arkansas at Fayetteville

Red Wolves Foundation Arkansas State University

Riley’s Warrior’s

Saline County Striders

Siloam Springs Children’s Center

Summer Cereal Drive – Arkansas Foodbank

Susan G. Komen “Race for the Cure

Toys for Tots Campaign, Marine Corps Reserve

University of Arkansas Community College at Hope Foundation

VTN Studio

Where Angels Run

Winthrop P Rockefeller Cancer Institute Foundation

Women Run Arkansas of Saline County

Women’s Foundation of Arkansas


Arkansas Rural Teacher of the Year

Ouida Newton

Ouida Newton, a math teacher with the Poyen Public Schools, has been named as the 2014 Arkansas Rural Teacher of the Year by the by the Arkansas Rural Education Association and the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, who sponsor the annual award.

A resident of Leola, she holds a Bachelor of Science degree in education from Henderson State University and a Master of library and informational science degree from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. She has taught at the Poyen Public Schools since 1979.

“My responsibility as an educator is to prepare students to be able to flourish in their future,” she said. “Not only do I have to teach math skills, but I also must teach students how to be problem solvers and lifelong learners.”

According to Newton, community expectations are high in rural schools. Parents and other community members expect a student who attends a rural school to perform better than students who attend larger schools, she said.

“Whatever it takes to reach children is what educators do,” said Newton, a third-generation teacher. “A small school allows teachers to adjust instruction based on a student’s need. I believe that teachers can touch lives and communities for a lifetime.”

The Rural Teacher of the Year Award winner is selected based on the quality and depth of answers to questions in the following categories: professional biography, educational history, professional development, community involvement, teaching philosophy, education issues and the teaching profession. 


Arkansas Rural Teacher of the Year Winners:

Beverly Froud
White County Central High School
Kathy Rusert
Acorn High School

Mindy Brinkman
Hampton High School

Ginny Chambliss
Rison High School

Patricia Hesse
Weiner Elementary and High School

Jimmy Stroud
Hector High School

William Tims Edwards II
Oden High School

Reginald (Reggie) Fryar
Van Cove High School

Beverly Cothran
Bruno-Pyatt Schools

Lavina Grandon
Valley Springs High School